Calling all avocado lovers!!

My love for cheese has always been strong and everlasting but one fateful day 4 years ago, I became aware of my body’s intolerance to all things lactose. For days, I cried and cried, how could my body do this to me?! I love cheese!!!

Okay.. I’m kidding about the whole crying for days part, but I really do love cheese! Grilled Cheese, Mac n’ Cheese, and quesadillas. All things that are good in this world are made with CHEESE!

Although I cut dairy milk out completely, I still eat cheese, but only certain kinds and in small amounts! I mean, c’mon, G-d cannot actually expect me to give up cheddar and feta?

Now that my rant about my life-long love for cheese is over, lets talk about an infatuation that I have developed in more recent years. Avocado (insert angels singing here).

As a child, the texture and creaminess of it grossed me out. But one glorious day 3 years ago, when I was working at a catering event, the avocado gods lured me in. The caterer specialized in Authentic Mexican cuisine and all the guests were devouring the fresh guacamole. I HAD TO TRY IT! So I scooped some guac on a homemade tortilla chip and that was it… I was in heaven.

With every avocado I’ve inhaled, my lust and love for this velvety-vegetable keeps me coming back for more.

And since I am forced to cut back on dairy as much as possible, I started playing around with some recipes that are traditionally packed with cream or cheese, and tried to create an equally satisfying alternative.

And there you have it.. the avocado quesadilla (minus the queso). This simple recipe will satisfy all of your avocado-loving taste buds. With a combination of basic ingredients, including avocado (duh), a whole wheat tortilla and a few slices of tomato, you can indulge yourself in its awesomeness. Perfect for an afternoon snack, the Avocadilla will take you less than 10 minutes to prepare and cook and it’s more healthy than your classic cheese-filled tortilla.


Avocadilla

PREP TIME: 5 MINUTES    –    COOK TIME: 5 MINUTES

Ingredients

  • 1 Whole Wheat Tortilla

  • 1/2 Avocado

  • Fresh Basil, chopped

  • 1/2 teaspoon Lemon Juice

  • Salt and Pepper

  • 1/2 Tomato, sliced

  • 1 slice mild cheese (optional)

Instructions

  1. Mash the avocado and add salt and pepper to your liking. Mix in lemon juice and chopped basil.

  2. Spread avocado mixture on the tortilla. Add sliced tomato on half the tortilla.

  3. Heat a large skillet over medium-high flame and spray with olive oil spray.

  4. Allow it to cook, around 1 minute and add the sliced cheese on top. Place cover over the skillet and let the cheese to melt.

  5. Using a spatula, carefully fold the tortilla over.

  6. Cut in half and serve with salsa.