Barbecues in the U.S have many staples including copious amounts of alcohol, burgers, hot dogs, and various mayo-filled side dishes. While I love BBQs, I am indifferent to all-things mayo. I cannot put my finger on what it is about this condiment that I do not like, but what I do know is that I refuse to eat your traditional cole slaw and potato salad, no matter how good people say it is.

This cole slaw recipe replaces the usual mayo/cream mixture with creamy peanut butter. Just like most of the recipes I feature on The Exotic Kosher, it is easy-to-make and a crowd favorite. Check out the recipe below!

PREP TIME: 10 minutes

Ingredients

  • 5 cups green cabbage, thinly sliced

  • 2 cups red cabbage, thinly sliced

  • 2 red bell peppers, thinly sliced

  • 2 carrots, shredded

  • 6 green onions, julienned

  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro

Dressing Ingredients

  • 6 tablespoons rice wine vinegar

  • 6 tablespoons vegetable oil

  • 5 tablespoons creamy peanut butter

  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce

  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar

  • 2 tablespoons ginger root, minced

  • 1 tablespoon garlic, minced

Instructions

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the rice wine vinegar, vegetable oil, peanut butter, soy sauce, brown sugar, ginger and garlic.

  2. In a large bowl, mix the green cabbage, red cabbage, red bell peppers, carrots, green onion, and cilantro.

  3. Add the dressing to the salad and mix well.

  4. Serve immediately

